» Lake Rules (see boat rules below)

Lake Rules (see boat rules below)

We ask that all lakefront owners stop using ALL fertilizer on the lawns abutting the lake. Use weed killer instead. Notify your contractors about fertilizer restrictions, and ask lawn man to blow leaves away and remove them. Place a rain garden along your lake shore plant with native Michigan plants, to stop Run-off into Pine Lake.
A list of rain/flower garden plants is on the West Bloomfield Township web site.
NEW West Bloomfield's NEW 2017 Manufactured Fertilizer Ordinance Sec. 14.5 says Absolutely No Fertilizer within 50' of the lake/canals. Recommended: beyond 50' only and ask for only 2 treatments per summer (not 6). You may ONLY fertilize between May 1 and October 1. Please tell your lawn contractors about these limitations around lakes.

Help Stop Invasive Species - Wash Your Boat BEFORE entering PINE LAKE, Empty Bilge on Land, and No live Bait! See also Boat Rule signs at launch sites on Pine Lake). Never feed Swans, geese or ducks. They need to migrate to help the water health of the lake.

Hours of Operations for Boats & PWCs (Boats with wake boards must operate toward the center of the lake to prevent stirring up the bottom, which impacts the water health of the lake.)

  • PWC's can be operated between 8:00 AM and Sunset in a counter clockwise direction ONLY
  • Boats can be operated one hour before sunrise & one hour after sunset
  • Boats may operate with proper boat lights after sunset; and
  • All Paddle boarders must now have a life jacket on the board

Lake Rules

Towing a Person With a Vessel Legally

In addition to adhering to laws as they apply to all vessels, boat and PWC operators towing a person(s) on water skis, a surfboard, or a similar device must obey these laws.

• Every vessel towing a person(s) on water skis, a surfboard, or a similar device must have a person, in addition to the vessel operator, observing the towed person(s) at all times

• It is illegal to tow persons on water skis, surfboards, or any device of this type between:
    ◦ One hour after sunset and one hour before sunrise if towed behind a boat
    ◦ One hour before sunset and 8:00 a.m. if towed behind a PWC

• Persons being towed must stay at least 100 feet away from:
    ◦ A shoreline (if operating in water less than three feet deep)
    ◦ Any moored or anchored vessel
    ◦ A dock or raft
    ◦ Any marked swimming area or person(s) in the water

• Those being towed behind a PWC must wear a U.S. Coast Guard–approved Type I, II, or III PFD. Inflatable PFDs may not be used.

Michigan Legislature Raises Minimum Age for Personal Watercraft Operation to 16
Michigan Legislature Raised the Minimum Age for Personal Watercraft (PWC) Operation to 16 years of age.
As of October 1, 2011. A person younger than 16 is NOT allowed to operate a PWC unless he or she meets the criteria below under "Who may Operate a Personal Watercraft (PWC)" (below). In addition, the PWC legislation prohibits the operation of personal watercraft beginning at sunset, rather than one hour before sunset. See PWC info below.

Who May Operate a Boat

Those less than 12 years of age:

• May operate a boat powered by a motor of no more than 6 horsepower (hp) legally without restrictions.

• May operate a boat powered by a motor of more than 6 hp but no more than 35 hp legally only if they are directly supervised on board by a person at least 16 years of age.

• May not operate a boat powered by a motor of more than 35 hp legally under any conditions.

Those 12 to 15 years of age:

• May operate a boat powered by a motor of no more than 6 hp legally without restrictions.

• May operate a boat powered by a motor of more than 6 hp legally only if they:

    ◦ Have passed a boating safety course approved by the Department of Natural Resources and have on board their boating safety certificate or:

    ◦ Are accompanied on board by a person at least 16 years of age.

Those 16 years of age or older may operate any boat on the waters of Michigan.

Who May Operate a Personal Watercraft (PWC)

As of October 1, 2011 the legislature raised minimum age for PWCs to 16 years of age (Ashleigh Iserman's Law).
If you were born after December 31, 1978 you shall not operate a personal watercraft unless you obtain a boating safety certificate.
As of October 1, 2011 any person under the age of 16 years of age shall not operate a PWC unless they are NOT less than 14 years of age AND 1 of the following circumstances applies:

• the person is riding the PWC with his or her parent or guardian or an individual 21 years of age or older designated by the parent or guardian.

• The person is operating or riding a PWC at a distance of not more than 100 feet from his parent or guardian or an individual 21 years of age or older designated by the parent or guardian.

The law also states:
    ◦ The owner of a PWC or a person having charge over or control of a personal watercraft shall not authorize or knowingly permit the PWC to be operated in violation of this legislation.

    ◦ Both the operator and the parent or legal guardian have obtained a boating safety certificate and:

    ◦ The PWC is equipped with a lanyard-type ignition safety switch and the parent or legal guardian has the lanyard attached to his or her person, clothing, or PFD and:

    ◦ Only the number of people designated by the PWC manufacturer may sit on a PWC.

Those 16 years of age or older:

• And born after December 31, 1978, may operate a PWC legally only if they have obtained a boating safety certificate.

• And born on or before December 31, 1978, may operate a PWC legally without restrictions.

Improper Distance is not maintaining a proper distance while operating a vessel or towing a person. To maintain a proper distance when you are operating at greater than “slow, no wake speed” (except in channels that are not posted), the vessel or persons being towed must not be within 100 feet of:

• A shoreline (if operating in water less than three feet deep)

• Any moored or anchored vessel

• A dock or raft

• Any marked swimming area or person(s) in the water

Improper Distance for PWCs means that, if operating at greater than “slow, no wake speed,” PWCs also must:

• Stay at least 200 feet from any Great Lakes shoreline.

• Not cross within 150 feet behind another vessel other than another PWC.

Pine Lake Property Owners Association hereby disclaims any responsibility related to your interpretation of the regulations. You are ultimately responsible for knowing the rules as they exist under the Marine Safety Act. Call the Marine Unit 248-858-7831 if you have questions.

.